Until 2013, there was no special visa category for start-up companies and their founders to relocate to another country.

In April 2013, Canada was the first country to introduce the Start-up visa program. More than 20 other countries followed suit. The logic behind this program was to attract innovative ideas from around the world.

Most countries who offer this program have adopted a similar process for choosing the desired candidates. The start-up founders must present their idea to a government approved entity and if the idea is approved, the founders are granted a visa that permits them to establish, operate and manage the start up company in the new country.

Interestingly, Canada is the only country in the world to offer direct unconditional permanent residency to approved start-up founders, whereas all other countries offer a work permit that may eventually lead to permanent residency.

The countries which offer the Start up Visa Program are:

English speaking countries – USA, Canada, UK, Australia, New Zealand and Ireland

Non-English speaking countries – Portugal, Spain, Chile, Estonia, France, Denmark, Israel, Italy, Japan, Malaysia, Netherlands, Norway, Sweden & Singapore

Ajmera Law Group has developed a special portal to provide information regarding the Start up Visa Programs of different countries. For more information please click on www.startupgoingglobal.com